Iran validates 7 candidates for June Presidential elections

The Iranian Interior ministry Tuesday released a list of seven people candidates for June 18 presidential elections whose bids have been validated by the Guardian Council to run for president.
The list includes five conservatives and two reformists. The candidates are as following: Saeed Jalili, Seyed Ebrahim Raisi, Alireza Zakani, Seyed Amir Hossein Qazizadeh Hashemi, Mohsen Mehralizadeh, Mohsen Rezaei, and Abdolnaser Hemmati.
The candidates can commence the election campaigns and end 24 hours before the vote, to mark the 13th presidential elections staged in the Islamic Republic. The council disqualified dozens of candidacies including former President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, ex-Majlis Speaker Ali Larijani, First-Vice President Es’haq Jahangiri, and Saeed Mohammad, the former chief of the Islamic Revolution Guard Corps’ engineering conglomerate Khatam al-Anbiya, reports say.

Written by