Kuwaiti citizens, residents allowed to travel to and from Gulf country from August 1

Kuwaitis and residents in the Gulf country can travel in and out from August 1, the government has announced.

The decision however excludes residents hailing from Bangladesh, Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Iran, Nepal.

The Gulf Arab country was the first country in the region, in March, to halt international commercial flights as part of the efforts to curb the spread of the novel covide-19.

Authorities last month announced a partial resumption of air traffic from August but warned that full capacity will be reached only next year.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) last month unveiled a three-phase plan aiming at opening the country’s airspace for the resumption of flights as its aviation sector gradually recovers from the covid-19 pandemic.

The first phase will involve a maximum of 100 flights and 10,000 passengers a day. The second, to begin from February will increase to 60 per cent to handle a maximum of 20,000 passengers and 200 flights daily.

Written by